Once an employee is hired and onboarding is complete it's time to invite them to Workable. The permissions granted to users fall into two categories:
- Employee management member access (this permission will exist only if you have enabled our onboard & manage features)
- Recruiting member access
Make sure that:
- You are a Super Admin (“All access” permission for both Employee Management and Recruiting).
- You have published the employee profile.
- The business email that the employee will use to sign up has already been added under the Work email field in their employee profile.
When you publish an employee profile we will check the work email and:
- If there is no account member with that work email, we will prompt you to invite the member to join the account either now or later.
If you choose to invite now the employee will receive an invitation to join your account. If you choose to invite later you can do it any time via their profile under the Actions menu.
- If there is already an active account member with that work email, that employee will be linked automatically to the account member with the same email. The member will receive a notification through email and their inbox informing them that their employee profile has been published and is now accessible.
Note: Once the invited/linked employees join your account they will have Standard access to both employee management and recruiting. You can edit their permission anytime from the Account Members page.
Account Members page
You can also invite new members manually or enable auto-join; this will allow anyone with an email address that matches your company's web address to join your Workable account as a Standard member without an invitation. To manually add someone new to the Workable account:
- Access the Account Members page by clicking your user icon at the top right of your screen, and then on Settings.
- In the Company Employees section, click the link to Invite a new member.
Enter the employee's business email address and decide on the membership type you’d like them to have for each of the access categories.
Employee management member access
This permission exists only if you have enabled our onboard & manage features and defines what the user will be able to see or perform in Employee Management.
- Standard access: This is the most versatile option. These users can manage their own and direct reports' profiles, view & sign documents, and access all public information in Employee Management (documents, employee profiles, etc.). Both employees and line managers fall under this access level.
- All access: Typically the HR admins. These users can access everything in Employee Management and manage employee profiles, onboarding workflows, profile & document templates, and approvals.
Recruiting member access
This permission defines what the user will be able to see or perform in the recruiting part of the platform e.g. create jobs and hiring teams, assign roles in the team, move, comment, and evaluate candidates. Set your employees' recruiting access to "Limited access" if they aren't involved in recruiting. For more information:
Member access combinations
Both member access categories work independently, so all variations can be supported. Access combinations will determine the parts of Workable that a user can see. For example, a member who was granted "Standard access" to Employee Management but "All access" to Recruiting will be able to see everything in Workable apart from the Employee Management and the 'Company' settings.
On the other hand, a member who was granted "All access" to Employee Management but "Standard access" to Recruiting will be able to see only the Employee Management settings together with their personal profile & preferences.