Advanced Annual with Hiring Plan
Enabling Hiring Plan
To get started with Hiring Plan, Super Admins need to check if the colleagues that will get involved with requisitions have the right permissions in Workable and to switch on requisitions.
Verify user permissions
Navigate to the Account Members area to verify the permissions for users involved with requisitions and ensure that they only see relevant details. Only users that are Hiring Managers and above can see requisition details on their dashboard. Select a user and click Manage membership to set department and location information.
- Recruiting Admins; manage the recruiting, create jobs and open reqs
- Hiring Managers; make hiring decisions and get involved with salary details
Switch on requisitions
Visit the user icon in the upper right of Workable, click on Settings and select Hiring Plan. If this is the first time you enable Hiring Plan features on the account, click the switch to turn on requisitions.
Important: After activating requisitions, candidates must be attached to a requisition before they can be moved to the Hired stage.
Before you start using Hiring plan, choose how your requisitions will be coded and set the Requisition fields that will need to be filled each time a requisition is created.
Code your requisitions
Enable the switch for automatic requisition code generation if desired and set the prefix for the code along with the starting number for the code. Each time the code will automatically increment by 1 for each new requisition created and it won’t be possible to manually edit the code.
Leave the switch disabled if you prefer to manually enter the code each time.
Adjust the requisition fields
Certain default fields cannot be disabled. These are the core details required for each requisition. Other fields have an on/off switch. If you do not plan to use a field, click the switch to turn it off. The field will not be used when creating requisitions. It can be re-enabled for future requisitions at any time.
To add your own fields, click "Add another field" at the bottom of the list. Fill out the field name and pick the field type according to the data you are looking to gather. Add any other information if required, and click Save Changes at the bottom of the settings after making any updates.
Each field has "field completion" and "requires re-approval" options:
- Field completion: Should this field be required to be filled in when a req is created, or is it optional (can be filled out later)?
- Requires re-approval:. Do changes to this field need to be re-approved if the req is edited?
In the above example:
- Plan Date (the month when a hire should be planned to start work) is required at creation of the req and requires approval if changed
- Salary Range isn't required at creation because it might be formalized later, however once the salary is added it will require approval
- Business Unit isn't required at creation and if it changes later it doesn't need to be approved, allowing for the most flexibility
Edit fields by clicking the three dots to the right. Some default fields are not editable.
Setting up approval workflows
Each requisition created with Workable's Hiring Plan must be approved before it can be opened. Selected users or group of users will review requisition details like title, start date and salary filled using the fields above.
The approvers get notified by email once a requisition needs reviews and they can approve the details or reject them from the hiring plan dashboard with a note if an update is required. After the approval process is complete the Hiring Manager for the requisition is notified and the Requisition Owner or a Super Admin can officially open the requisition.
Default approval workflows
When you first enable requisitions you'll need to setup a default approval workflow. You can edit or setup more custom approval workflows at any time.
From the user profile icon, visit the Hiring Plan section of the account and navigate to the Default approval workflow section. Any Workable user (excluding external recruiters) can be added to the workflow. These users will see all of the details that were entered when creating a requisition.
You can request requisition approval from a specific user type, for example, from the Super Admins of the account or the Hiring Managers of the job:
- Super Administrator group: any Super Admin in Workable can approve the requisition
- Recruiting Administrator group: any Recruiting Admin assigned to the job can approve the requisition
- Hiring Managers group: any user who is assigned to the job as a 'Hiring Manager' can approve the requisition
If the requisition gets rejected, the creator is notified immediately. They can update and resubmit the requisition which will begin the approval workflow again.
Custom approval workflows
Click your user icon in the upper right and select Hiring Plan. Locate the Custom Approval Workflows section. Select "Add a new custom approval workflow" or edit an existing workflow.
Provide a name for the workflow to make it easily identifiable. Then set the department(s) and/or location(s) for which this workflow will be used.
Approval workflows are selected automatically when a requisition is created. The custom approval workflow that best matches the requisitions department and location will be selected. If there is no match for the department and location then the default workflow will be selected.
If either the department or location field is blank then the workflow can apply to any department/location. E.g. a blank department with a “Boston, MA” location would mean that the workflow is selected for all departments, but the requisition must be in Boston.
Set a broad location to make the workflow available for requisitions in a big region. The location could be set to “Canada” and the workflow will be available to requisitions in Canada, even though the job itself is likely to be in a specific office (e.g. “Vancouver, Canada”).