Bulk messages help you save time by sending the same message to multiple candidates at once. This is most useful for sending information about the job to your sourced candidates or notifying disqualified candidates about the result of their application.
Bulk texting is available with Workable's Texting premium tool.
Choosing the recipients of the message
You can send messages in bulk to candidates who are in the same stage for a job.
Go to the appropriate stage in the pipeline (e.g. “Sourced”) containing the candidates you’d like to email.
Select the candidates you’d like to email using the checkbox by their name. A bulk actions menu will appear. Click it and select the option to Send bulk emails (or bulk text messages with the Texting premium tool). This will open a form where you can choose what you'll send to the candidates.
Editing and sending the messages
Bulk messages work in a similar way to regular email in Workable; no matter how many candidates you’re sending to, you can use templates, attachments and all the other features you’re familiar with.
For emails, candidates will not see the other addresses that the email has been sent to - it works like BCC in a regular email. For texts, each selected candidates is texted individually. They are not as a group and cannot see others' numbers or messages.
Unlike sending a single message to one candidate, followers are not copied on bulk emails.
Visibility of bulk messages
Bulk emails retain the visibility of the most recent message that was sent to the candidate. This means that, even if sent to multiple candidates, each message will have the visibility settings of the particular Timeline. If this is the first message to a candidate, or the visibility was set to "Everyone", the visibility of the bulk message to that particular candidate will be set to "Visible to all" by default.
If the most recent message on a candidate's Timeline has limited visibility, the bulk message sent to that candidate will also have limited visibility.
If you’re using a template to message multiple candidates (e.g. if you’ve created a personalized rejection template), Workable will detect candidates who have already received the template, to help prevent it being sent twice.
Note: This feature will only work with templates. We strongly recommend creating and using templates for the most frequent types of communication.
For example, if you send out emails in bulk using a “mass rejection” template, any candidates who have received this template already will have their name highlighted in red. A link will appear to remove them. Click the link to leave only the candidates who have not yet received an email using this template.
Alerts for bulk texting
If a candidate in a bulk text has not provided their consent to be texted, or if they have opted out from text messages then an error is displayed. The candidate can be unselected individually.
If there is no phone number for the candidate on their profile, an error is also displayed. Remove the candidate from the bulk message individually or edit their profile to add their number in the Phone Number field.