When two departments are merged, any account members who had different roles for each department will have those role settings "combined".
Let's say that an account member is a Hiring Manager for Department A and a Reviewer for Department B. After a merge (for example Department A absorbed Department B) the member settings will be updated as below:
Ultimately, to resolve these conflicting roles you will have to choose a single user role for Department A.
Better yet, we recommend reviewing account member settings before merging departments so you have time to delete or reassign roles as necessary. Select the trashcan icon to delete a specific hiring role, or use the dropdown menu to reassign the role.
Note: If no action is taken before or after the merge, the more restrictive role will be applicable by default; hence, the member will be assigned a Reviewer role for all jobs in Department A.